Skip to main content

Fund Our Facilities

About the Fund Our Facilities Coalition

Established in early 2019, “Fund our Facilities” is a coalition of elected leaders, labor organizations, and community groups focused on securing funding for improvements to school buildings.

Download the Updated Coalition 2-Pager

Read the Jan. 2021 Coalition Press Release

We are advocating for a commonsense agenda based on the following:

  • Every child across the Commonwealth has the right to a quality public education in a school that is safe, healthy, and clean.
  • For too long, students across the state have suffered from catastrophic disinvestment in their schools, resulting in physical and environmental hazards in their school buildings.
  • As leaders in our communities, we have a moral imperative to work in a unified way to ensure that no child is ever again poisoned in their classroom.
  • NEW, January 2021: As shameful conditions in school facilities have persisted without comprehensive remediation, facilities needs have increased. Additionally, the onset of the COVID-19 crisis has exacerbated many of the existing needs within buildings, specifically around air quality and ventilation.

New, January 2021: Our Coalition is calling for an immediate investment of $200 Million to remediate the most pressing environmental concerns within more than 225 School District of Philadelphia buildings.

  • More school cleaning and maintenance staff
  • Rodent & pest control; asthma control
  • Accelerated & expanded lead paint and asbestos stabilization
  • Repair of water leaks
  • Electrical & lighting upgrades
  • Bathroom upgrades
  • Window replacement
  • NEW, January 2021: COVID related response and upgrades (including air quality)
  • Improved strategic planning, data management, collaboration, and quality control efforts

Collage of coalition partner logos - partners listed below in text

Coalition Partners


  • A. Phillip Randolph Institute
  • ACLU Pennsylvania
  • AFSCME 1199C
  • AFSCME District Council 88
  • AFT Pennsylvania
  • Allegheny Labor Federation
  • American Federation of Teachers
  • BMWED-IBT 3012
  • For Our Future PA Action Fund
  • Laborers District Council 332
  • Local 14 Heat & Frost Insulators
  • PA Spotlight
  • PCCY
  • Pennsylvania AFL-CIO
  • Philadelphia Council AFL-CIO
  • Philadelphia Federation of Teachers
  • Philadelphia Jobs with Justice
  • PhilaPOSH
  • Philly Healthy Schoolsl Initiative
  • Pittsburgh Federation of Teachers
  • Public Interest Law Center
  • Seafarers International
  • SEIU 668
  • Working America
  • Working Families Partnership

Members of Congress

  • Congressman Brendan Boyle

City Council Members

  • Councilmember Mark Squilla
  • Councilmember Kenyatta Johnson
  • Councilmember Jamie Gauthier
  • Councilmember Curtis Jones, Jr.
  • Council President Darrell L. Clarke
  • Councilmember Cindy Bass
  • Council Majority Leader Cherelle Parker
  • Councilmember Derek Green
  • Councilmember Helen Gym
  • Councilmember Isaiah Thomas
  • Councilmember Katherine Gilmore Richardson
  • Councilmember Kendra Brooks

State Representatives

  • Minority Leader Rep. Joanna McClinton
  • Representative Liz Hanbidge
  • Representative Matt Bradford
  • Representative Carol Hill-Evans
  • Representative Tina Davis
  • Representative Joe Ciresi
  • Representative Mary Jo Daley
  • Representative Tim Briggs
  • Representative Ben Sanchez
  • Representative Leanne Krueger
  • Representative Dave Delloso
  • Representative Jennifer O’Mara
  • Representative Kevin Boyle
  • Representative Ed Neilson
  • Representative Mary Isaacson
  • Representative Joe Hohenstein
  • Representative Jason Dawkins
  • Representative Malcolm Kenyatta
  • Representative Brian Sims
  • Representative Elizabeth Fiedler
  • Representative Regina Young
  • Representative Rick Krajewski
  • Representative Amen Brown
  • Representative Morgan Cephas
  • Representative Donna Bullock
  • Representative Danilo Burgos
  • Representative Darisha K. Parker
  • Representative Chris Rabb
  • Representative Stephen Kinsey
  • Representative Mike Zabel

State Senators

  • Senator Nikil Saval
  • Senator Tina Tartaglione
  • Senator Sharif Street
  • Senator Vincent Hughes
  • Senator John Kane
  • Senator Tim Kearney

City Officials

  • Controller Rebecca Rhynhart

Fund Our Facilities Two-Pager

Share This